Privately-Funded Scholarships

In addition to the College’s general merit scholarships and grants, entering students are considered for merit and need-based scholarships from scholarship funds established by generous alumni and friends of UC Hastings. Eligibility for privately funded scholarships is determined by the Admissions Office in accordance with each donor’s intentions (unless otherwise noted). Some are renewable and some are not, and a few of the endowed awards also have higher grade point average requirements than the general merit scholarships. Privately funded scholarships at UC Hastings include the following:

Anonymous II Scholarship

Established by a UC Hastings graduate who wishes to remain anonymous. Merit-based scholarships or grants to be awarded by the Admissions office to eligible students . Not renewable.

William Blackfield Scholarship

A gift from Mrs. Cecile Blackfield was generously donated in 1982 to UC Hastings for deserving needy student. Recipients of the William Blackfield Memorial Scholarship shall be selected by a committee appointed by the Academic Dean. Not renewable.

Blum Foundation Scholarships

These scholarships are funded by the Leon A. and Esther F. Blum Foundation. The Foundation was incorporated to encourage and promote education through voluntary grants, scholarships, and student loans to aid worthy students registered at accredited law schools in the City and County of San Francisco. Blum Scholarships are conferred upon several entering first-year students based on academic achievement, LSAT score, and financial need. Depending on annual funding, between 10 and 15 entering students are selected for the Scholarships, which are renewable for two years as long as the recipient maintains a minimum cumulative GPA of 2.5 and continues to demonstrate financial need.

Commit to Hastings Scholarship

Established by graduates of the Class of 2015.  Selection of recipient is made by a committee of members of the Class of 2015. Merit-based. Not renewable.

Faculty Academic Excellence/Eucalyptus Scholarship

Based on need and merit, leadership in extracurricular activities, and relevant work and life experience.  Renewable upon good academic standing.

L. Richard Fischer Scholarship

The L. Richard Fischer ’70 Endowed Scholarship Funds was established in 2013 to be awarded to students with an undergraduate degree from the University of San Francisco. Merit-based and not renewable.

Hawaii Scholarship

Must be a resident of Hawaii to be eligible. Selection of recipient is made by a committee of Hawaii-based UC Hastings alumni. Not renewable.

Ingemar E. Hoberg Memorial Scholarship

Established in 2010 by C. Madalyn Hoberg to assist “financially needy” students. Not renewable.

Innovation Law Clinics Scholarship

This scholarship was established to award to students who are involved with Innovation Law Clinics as determined by ILC Director.

Jackson Lewis Employment Law Scholarship

Established in 2007 by the law firm of Jackson Lewis. LLP to award scholarships to a first year student from diverse background interested in employment law.

Kenneth E. Olivier Scholarship

Based on need and record of community service. Renewable.

James Sarsfield O’Neill Endowed Fund

Qualifying students must have been raised in one of the following California counties prior to age 18 to be considered: Sacramento, Shasta, Tehama, Glenn, Butte, Yuba, Sutter, Colusa, Yolo, or Placer. Need-based. Renewable.

Osbourne-Whelan Endowed Rugby (Academic) Scholarship

This endowed scholarship was created by former Hastings Rugby Football Club members in memory of UC Hastings College of the Law Professors George Edward Osborne (1893-1977) and John William Whelan (1922-2007). They understood the sport of rugby creates opportunities to develop superior leadership skills, good judgment, loyalty, vision, ethics, and lifelong friendships.  With their encouragement, the Hastings Rugby Football Club (“HRFC”) was formed and sustained for two decades (1973–1993). Over the years, former HRFC members established a strong network of attorneys, rugby players, coaches, mentors, administrators, and referees in the San Francisco Bay Area, throughout California, and in the United States. The Osbourne-Whelan Scholarship requires a separate application.  Please see these instructions to apply.  The deadline in the instructions does not pertain to entering students.

Peter and Doris Drucker Memorial Scholarship

Established by a gift from Cecily Drucker ’74 in memory of her parents. Awarded to an incoming student. Preference is given to students who are the first among their immediate families to attend professional school. Further preference will be given to first-generation college graduates and those from immigrant families.

Tony Patiño Fellowship Award

The Tony Patiño Fellowship is a merit award created to support law students who have demonstrated leadership ability and whose outstanding academic and personal histories show good moral character, ethical conduct, good citizenship, motivation and initiative. One of the factors in evaluating character is past participation in public service activities. For this purpose, public service is broadly construed to include any activity the primary object of which is to benefit others or the community as a whole. Please click here for the application.

The Guy Rounsaville Jr. ’68 Diversity Scholarship

Fund established in 2013 to support diversity initiatives at UC Hastings to attract students from diverse backgrounds. Both need and merit taken into consideration. Not renewable.

John K. (Jack) Smith ’54 Scholarship

Established in 2007 by Chancellor and Dean Emerita Mary Kay Kane and Chancellor and Dean Nell Newton to be used to recruit the best students. Both need and merit taken into consideration. Not renewable.

Telkamp-Turriff Scholarship

This scholarship was established by Bruce Telkamp ’94 and Diana Turrif ’90 to award students with an undergraduate degree from UCLA or Cal Poly San Luis Opisbo. Recipients may be selected based on criteria such as, but not limited to, strong undergraduate academic performance, leadership, and other work and life experiences. Not renewable.

The Percy E. Towne Scholarship

Established in honor of Percy E. Towne these scholarships, ranging from $5,000 to $10,000, are awarded based on academic achievement and financial need. These scholarships are renewable at the same level for two additional years.

Wayne O. Veatch, Sr., Scholarship

Established to honor Wayne O. Veatch, Sr., a UC Hastings graduate, the scholarship is available to an entering first-year student from the Greater Los Angeles Area. Each year, one nonrenewable award will be made based on need and academic ability.

John Vlahos Scholarship

Awarded to students with significant adverse backgrounds and who have experienced significant obstacles – educational, economic, social, or physical – that have restricted their access to academic opportunities and resources.