Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Working Group

Mission Statement

The mission of the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Working Group (DEIWG) is to foster diversity, equity, inclusion, and cultural competence in order to attract, retain, and support diverse community members, foster an environment that promotes excellence and learning, and enrich the individual and collective learning and work experience. The Working Group will endeavor to achieve these aims through inclusive and collaborative programming, research and information-sharing, and advice to the College.

1L Membership Position

There is one open seat for a 1L member of the Working Group, to be appointed by Chancellor & Dean David Faigman. The 1L member should email a cover letter explaining their interest and a resume by October 12 to DiversityWorkingGroup@uchastings.edu. Working Group student members attend regular Working Group meetings every few weeks and provide a student perspective as the Group gives advice to the administration, among other things. The position is unpaid.

Students interested in working as Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Fellows (a paid RA position) should send a cover letter explaining their interest and a resume to DiversityWorkingGroup@uchastings.edu by October 12.  Work hours are variable, and will include research and help with organizing activities of the Working Group. This position is a paid RA position.


Hiromi “Mei” Cooley

Assistant Director of Graduate Admissions
View Profile

Jamie Dolkas

Director of Women & Leadership
View Profile

Lauren Lofton

Associate Director for Student Life and Inclusion
View Profile

Elizabeth McGriff ’96

Director of the Legal Education Opportunity Program (LEOP)
View Profile

Emily Murphy

Associate Professor of Law
View Profile

Manoj Viswanathan

Professor of Law and Co-Director, Center on Tax Law
View Profile

Mario Ernesto Lopez ’15

Associate Director of Admissions & Diversity Initiatives at UC Hastings Law
View Profile

Staff: Andrea Bing, Mei Cooley, Grace Hum and Elizabeth McGriff

Ex Officio Member and Chair of the Working Group:
Academic Dean and Professor of Law Morris Ratner

Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events at this time, please check back soon.


This presentation, delivered on Friday March 22, 2019, was the first in the “Diversity in Legal Thought & Practice” speaker series launched by the UC Hastings Law Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Working Group, co-sponsored by the Legal Education Opportunity Program, Racial Justice Center, and LexLab.

Presentation at UC Hastings Law by Adelmise Rosemé Warner ‘01, Global Head of Diversity & Inclusion at SiriusXM and Pandora.